Day 6: September 9, 2014

Start (approx.): 6:34 am            Camp (approx.): 10:00 pm

4000 footers climbed: Tecumseh (9:45 am), North Tripyramid, Middle Tripyramid (4:45 pm?)

Miles hiked: 17.3

I road walk about a mile on Tripoli road to the mount Tecumseh trail. I understand now why most people climb Tecumseh from the other side, this side has a false summit which you have to descend before climbing up to the actual summit of Tecumseh. The views on Tecumseh are pretty good but I don’t linger and descend to the ski area. At a stream crossing I randomly meet Bob who manages the 4000 footer face book page. It’s fun to talk to someone who understands what I’m trying to do.

Once on the road I wonder if the ski trail I see going off to the left would be a shortcut to my trailhead but I’m not sure so I continue on the road. After turning left back onto Tripoli road I notice the ski trail again so yes, I could have saved myself 1/2 mile perhaps. Yesterday at the Greeley pond trailhead I saw notices about the Livermore trail being closed during the week for maintenance. I vaguely remember reading something about that but it’s too late now. I need that trail to get up to the Tripyramids. I’m hoping that after three months they’re mostly done with the work and will let me pass by. I feel a little apprehensive bypassing all the closed signs but plan on asking the first person I see what the situation is. It turns out this Livermore trail is just a gravel road and I never see anyone on it. Nonetheless I am very relieved when I get to the junction with the Scaur Ridge trail. I walk a little bit further and reward myself with an actual lunch break and cook pasta. The Scaur Ridge trail is a good trail and before I know it I reach the junction with the Pine Bend Brook trail and I’m on the ridge to the Tripyramids. There is some slabby crap trail there but nothing as bad as the slide on the way to the Kate Sleeper trail. Thank goodness it only lasts for a very short time. I’m not a fan of slides with a full pack on. After an initial rocky start the Sleeper trail is very nice an easy. I make good time until I go down the Downes Brook trail because I didn’t see the junction in the dark. I was focusing on staying on trail (it was a rocky section) and was so glad I was on a trail that I didn’t question if I was on the right trail. This is one of the few trails I haven’t hiked yet and I wish I had because I wouldn’t have wasted so much time and energy going down hill and finally figuring out that it didn’t line up with the route on the map. Back up I go and now I do see the junction sign. I vaguely remember Rich saying something about a tricky section coming up and not wanting to get lost I decide to find a place to camp here. Rich has told me there are nice campsites here. I can’t find them in the dark. Needless to say, I’m quite frustrated.

diretissima 001 diretissima 004 diretissima 005 diretissima 006 diretissima 007 diretissima 008

Leave a Reply

